Huckleberries!

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

It’s been a long long time since I last went huckleberry picking, I mean, at least five, maybe ten years! The other weekend we went to our cabin at Priest Lake with some family and friends and picking huckleberries was pretty much our main goal for the time we spent there. We went two different mornings, for 3-4 hours each time, running from berry patch to berry patch and filling our buckets. By the end of the weekend, each person had a gallon (considering there were 7 of us, that is a lot of berries we found)!

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

I decided to use Connor and my two gallons for a couple different treats, including several mason jars full of huckleberry sauce (some which we gave out as gifts but plan to use on ice cream and cheesecake), huckleberry lemonade (which I drank all myself), and still have a ton left over, which I have yet to decide what to use for. Suggestions or recipes, anyone? Send them my way! Here are a few pictures from when we cleaned all the berries and boiled them into sauce.

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Huckleberries! | The Urban Pig

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. JoAn Forsyth

     /  08/06/2014

    Looks so fun. I’m envious!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  2. Huckleberry lemonade!!! Share that recipe with me. It looks delicious!

    Reply
    • Really easy! I just blended maybe half a cup of huckleberries with a large glass full of lemonade. I would also say to strain it because you get a lot of huckleberry skins in your teeth if you don’t! :) Play with the amount of huckleberries though because we made 2-3 full glasses with I think about a cup of huckleberries.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
