Resolutions (and a Fitness Freebie!)

Resolutions (And Fitness Freebie!)

(via pinterest)

We are already a week into the New Year! Have you been working on your resolutions? I haven’t done a ton, but I have been doing some work to prepare myself to start. Connor and I like to come up with individual resolutions as well as combined ones or our relationship (example: go on more “fun experience” dates, like to the art museum, rather than the typical dinner and a movie). One of my individual resolutions is to move my body more; stretch it out. Many people make fitness goals for the New Year, however I am not the most ambitious when it comes to that. So I wanted to do something simple that would also feel great and highly benefit my stiff body. I want to start small.

Working a desk job means little movement throughout the day. I find that my body gets jammed up, and when I do small stretches, it feels unbelievably good. Last year in school, I took a ballet class where the first half of the hour was dedicated to deep stretches. I noticed such a difference in my physical and mental body. I was stretched out and energized, then I would go to my design classes feeling rejuvenated and refreshed, even though I would be sitting at a desk for the next 4-6 hours. I felt great. It was the best way to start the morning. I told myself that after the semester ended, I would continue to stretch a few times each week. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. But like I said on New Years Day, the new year gives us an opportunity to start over and even try again on our past failures. I am using the new year to try this again. Even if I fail, at least I did more than if I didn’t try at all.

I think the hardest part of having a fitness goal is finding a time and place to fit it into your schedule. I like the idea of not having to pay for a gym membership, but if I don’t have it set in schedule like a class for school, I tend to skip out. This is one of those details I need to work on.

If you have a fitness resolution, you might be interested in what I am sharing today — a compilation of stretches I recorded from my ballet class. For additional stretches, check out my fitness board on Pinterest. Try them out, pick your favorite, and work on a routine that is right for you. Good luck!

Download the PDF here:
Ballet Fitness Plan
(Ballet Fitness and Flexibility Routine)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. New Year Fitness Resolutions - Lynda Lippin - Pilates Fitness Reiki NYC

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
