Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays | The Urban Pig

Merry Christmas! This picture was from last night, during our tradition of driving to look at lights on Christmas eve. I hope you all have had a wonderful holiday spent with friends and family! My parents are scheduled to arrive in Colorado tomorrow evening, so today, Connor and I mostly spent with just the two of us, but we did have dinner with some friends. Considering most holidays we spend with so much family, it was just nice to get out and see some faces.

This Christmas has been very different from those in the previous years in many ways. Like this last thanksgiving, it was our first Christmas away from our families. Even though my parents will be here tomorrow, it still seems strange to wake up Christmas morning to just the two of us. We made a yummy breakfast and watched a movie, and opened a few gifts. This year was also different in the gift-giving category, as well. Of course I love gifts, but this year Connor and I decided we would not get anything for each other, since we have been spending so much on the house. It was definitely weird to have Christmas very much unfocused on the gifts, but it was also sort of refreshing. Although we spent much of the day cleaning and preparing our house for my parents’ visit, we also had a slow, relaxing morning where we simply enjoyed our time with each other. I began to just think about how appreciative I am for all that I have, both in the “material world” and more importantly, the loving husband I have. I am very blessed.

It’s crazy to think this is the last blog post I will have for the year of 2013. I feel that Connor and I are ending this year well, and although time seems to be flying by, I am so excited for 2014 and the changes I hope for it to bring.

Happy holidays, see you in 2014!!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
