Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

We made it to a year! So, this week I wanted to share a little bit about how we met and moments from our wedding day. Time to take a walk down memory lane…

Connor and I met through a mutual friend. When we first met and started to hang out, he would always joke and tell people I was his wife. I always just laughed it off. He was definitely cute, but I wasn’t really looking for a relationship at the time. Before we really knew each other well, he asked me to date him, and I told him no, at least not until we got to know each other better. A few weeks passed and we hung out almost every day. We finally became a “thing.” We continued to see each other constantly, and before we knew it, it had been 6 months. On Christmas, he asked me to marry him. We had already talked about it a few times, saying we would wait a few years. He gave me his mother’s ring, a sort of promise. Two and a half more years passed.

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

[Connor’s portrait showing his tattoo which reads, “Fate,” symbolic of how we met]

August 10, 2012 we were on the beach in Hawaii, waiting for the conch shell to blow, signaling my walk down the sandy beach to my soon-to-be husband. I then proceeded to walk to the song “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” by IZ. It was the most joyous day, an intimate moment shared with just our parents and siblings. Throughout the ceremony, as I would look out to the smiling faces, I felt so happy to see the circle our family had formed around us; the love and support greater than we ever imagined.

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

That night, we celebrated with a luau and dinner with our newly formed family. The sunset behind the dancers, a table full of food, and laughter with family was possibly the best way to end the night.

For the rest of the week, Connor and I spoiled ourselves with honeymoon adventures. We played on the beach, went on a boat ride, took a helicopter tour, went zip-lining down the mountain, and got the most amazing massage at a spa. We had a pretty awesome time.

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

Newlywed Edition: Our Wedding Story | The Urban Pig

One year later, it has been just over four years since we first met. Although the friend that introduced us is no longer with us today, he gave us a gift that will last a lifetime…our love and our marriage. I cannot thank him enough for that. And, I cannot thank Connor enough for staying by my side through thick and thin. When times got tough, we always worked together, even through the pain, to make things better. No matter what, Connor always treats me like a princess, even during the times I don’t deserve it. I can’t describe the blessing he is to my life. I love you, Con. Thank you for taking every step of the road thus far with me, supporting me, and having unconditional love throughout. This is just one small milestone in our lives, I can’t wait to travel the rest with you. Xoxo.

[All photos taken by family members, myself, or Marbelle Photography, a great team that captured the beautiful moments of our marriage.]

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Your wedding day was truly amazing. Thank you for including us in that special day. You two are so much fun to watch in your marriage. It’s inspirational to be around you and watch your love for each other. A very happy story. I love you both so much. Mom

    Reply
  2. Beautiful pictures, and even better story :) This makes me that much more excited for my own day! :)

    Reply
    • Try your best to be stress-free! Things can get hectic in the days up to your wedding, but when you are up their just focus on each other rather than the imperfect details that no one will notice :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
