Last Design Project as a Student!

This week has been a good time for me to unwind since returning from Europe. I forgot to mention, I was sick pretty much the entire trip. I had a sore throat that I thought was strep, a tooth ache, runny nose, and the start to a double ear infection. I was taking pain meds the whole time, and I kept thinking that as soon as I got back to the states, all of my illnesses would catch up and go full-blown on me. And they did. I had a fever the other night and in general have been exhausted. Trying to get back on schedule has been a little rough, too. I usually wake up at 3 in the morning either bright-eyed and ready to go or absolutely starving. I am so happy to not have any responsibilities right now so that I can just be resting!

But, of course I don’t just sit around. I get a bit antsy so I find things to do. I have been cleaning off my computer and re-organizing my files, especially my projects from school. I remembered that I never shared my most recent studio project of the sustainable/local restaurant, so here are a few renderings I did as well as the lighting model I built to study the wood forms I designed.

The Barn Restaurant | Designs by Shaleesa Mize[main entrance]

The Barn Restaurant | Designs by Shaleesa Mize[restaurant bar]

The Barn Restaurant | Designs by Shaleesa Mize

[exterior elevations]

The Barn Restaurant | Designs by Shaleesa Mize[interior elevations of green wall and bar]

Lighting Study and Built Model by Shaleesa Mize

Lighting Study and Built Model by Shaleesa Mize

Lighting Study and Built Model by Shaleesa Mize

Lighting Study and Built Model by Shaleesa Mize

Lighting Study and Built Model by Shaleesa Mize

This project was just submitted for an international competition, and it sounds like there a ton of participants, so I’m not getting my hopes up! I definitely struggled through designing a restaurant for the first time, but some of the concepts I explored were really interesting (sustainable design, local and regional food, trends in food, “the barn,” lighting and repetition, materials, etc.). I can’t believe it is my last project as a student in school! Now, onward to job hunting! (And a clean computer).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
