Since Last Sunday

since last sunday | the urban pig

I am learning that in order to live for today, and be in the moment, you first have to realize what is in the future. It goes back to not really knowing what we have until it’s gone. To live in the moment, we must first realize that these things won’t always be around. Only then might we fully appreciate today and not take it for granted. So many huge changes have already occurred and there are so many more to come. But one thing I have already realized since being a graduate for one day, is how the little things can sometimes be overlooked. Those little things that together make up one day, a day of your precious life.

The sun on your face, a small scoop of ice cream on a warm day, a relaxing movie night cuddling with loved ones; I have appreciated every little thing so much more since I don’t have a thousand other school-related things on my mind. I have kept busy, though. Between moving to a different apartment, seeing friends and family for graduation and shopping and packing for Europe, there has not been much time to fully pause life. Even so, I have enjoyed each moment more thoroughly than I have in a very long time.

Today, I left Pullman with my parents to head back to Spokane for the next few days until we leave for Europe. Things are beginning to feel more real, especially since saying goodbye to Connor. I won’t see him for almost three weeks, and that is the longest we will have ever been apart. Giving him a last hug and kiss definitely got to me a bit! I am also getting a bit nervous about my upcoming adventure, realizing silly things like not being able to have my daily bowl of Coco Puffs or Fruity Pebbles. Seriously, the things we take for granted.

The simple things make our life what it is.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your graduation! I almost went to Washington State University myself! It’s such a lovely, sprawling campus. I’ve always admired interior designers for their creativity, it’s something I wish I could do myself.I wanted to thank you for following my blog, I really appreciate it! I hope you find many recipes to keep you happy and healthy :)

    Reply
    • It is a very beautiful campus, but all those hills give you what we call “cougar calves.” Do you live in or near Washington? And finding recipes is great right now because I am working on putting together a little cookbook for myself! I have been trying all the ones handed down to me from my mom, and adding in new ones that I find on Pinterest or other places on the web. So thanks for sharing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
