Graduation Reflections

graduation reflections via the urban pig

So it is the end. Or maybe, just the beginning, depending how you look at it. Last night was the first time I actually wrapped my head around this concept of graduating from college. As I was saying goodbye and hugging the new friends I have made, I realized that my time in school is over, and I am getting ready to start the next stage of my life, whatever and wherever that may be.

College for me has been a roller coaster, to say the least. I had my ups and downs like anyone. I had a few teachers that I didn’t like, but I will always remember the ones I did. The ones who taught me everything I know, who challenged me to be the best I can be and never settle for less than that, who made me laugh and enjoy coming to school each and every day, who taught me to have confidence in myself and inspire me to grow. I owe them a lot; I wouldn’t be the person I am today without them, and I don’t know if they realize how grateful I am for that.

Along the way, I also made friends and met some really cool people. The best opportunity I had was participating in an integrated class with architecture students. I was scared to death at first — the stories I had heard about working with “those architects.” It turned out to be my favorite part of my last year at school. Those guys are awesome and I had a lot of laughs and fun times working side by side with them.

Looking back at the last 4-5 years of my life, I would have never imagined being where I am today. I don’t think my 17-year old self starting college had any idea about the changes that would happen. A lot of blood (those xacto knives can get you good!), sweat (carrying materials, textbooks, laptop, and all of those other gadgets and cases across campus), and tears (the sometimes overwhelming stress and exhaustion of late nights and due dates) changed me for the better.

Now, I can’t quite say what is next for me. And honestly, that feels kind of nice at this point in time. No commitments, no tasks to be done, no upcoming tests, essays, or project presentations. Just me and Connor and free time. It feels pretty dang good.

A big old “thanks” to everyone I got to meet and share this time with and to those who supported and encouraged me the whole way. And especially to my parents and Connor — my biggest fans. I love you all!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grandma JoAn

     /  05/05/2013

    Grazie. For the memories

    Dovai. Excuse me. (Can you help me?).
    Not sure if the spelling is right

    Chow. Good bye

    Reply
  2. You are a rock star!! You have worked so incredibly hard for all of your amazing accomplishments. I have been so inspired by your ability to gracefully balance so many tasks, responsibilities, and commitments. I am so proud of you. I love you so so much. Congratulations!!!! Let’s head to Italy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
