A New Experience in Old Seattle

a new experience in old seattle | the urban pig

Because I take a few trips to Seattle each year, I have pretty much done all the things people do when they visit. When I was little, my grandma was a volunteer at the zoo, so I spent many hours there playing with the monkeys and exploring. This was great, but now when I go to Seattle, I can feel a little bored of doing some of these tourist-y things. When I found out that I would be required to take a trip there for a portfolio review for school, I decided that I was determined to do things I have never done or things I haven’t done in a really long time. I needed a break, and so I figured this would be a good time to have one.

Day One: The day started with my portfolio review in a downtown skyscraper on the 20th floor, in the beautiful Knoll Showroom which overlooked the city and the ocean. As a design student, it always feels amazing to be surrounded by iconic furniture pieces, the classics. Each student was able to have a one-on-one session with a professional from the Seattle area, three times. I had three really awesome reviewers who all had great things to say as well as good advice for improving my portfolio. What started as a very nervous morning ended as an exciting and hopeful afternoon. My parents picked me up from the review, and we walked around for a while downtown and then went back to my grandma’s house on Magnolia Hill near Discovery Park. It is a really beautiful area that has trails down to the beach and a light house, so we decided to take a walk because it has been a long time since we last went there. Also, it was 70 degrees outside and absolutely gorgeous!

a new experience in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

Day Two: Of course, the weather quickly changed in Seattle the next day. Freezing wind and a bit of drizzling rain. It was a good day for inside entertainment, and for something I had never even heard of until about a year ago — an Underground Seattle? Apparently, back when Seattle first started to grow as a city, they built right at sea level. To make a long story short, they realized that it is a bad idea to do that, and so they built a new city right over the old one. So the  first level of storefronts that we see in Pioneer Park today, are actually the second level of the original city buildings. Pretty cool! The tour guides were incredibly funny and definitely made the adventure worthwhile. It was interesting to see the history of the town, but at the same time was a bit eerie to think of an earthquake happening while you are underground in a place that looks like it could collapse any minute.

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

a new adventure in old seattle | the urban pig

This may have been the best trip I have had in Seattle for quite some time :) If you would like to see all of these pictures and more, check out my instagram page!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
