Since Last Sunday

since last sunday via the urban pig

Happy Easter! I hope you had a great day and maybe even weekend with your families. For me, it was an abnormal holiday but still really good. My parents started their roadtrip to Arizona on Thursday because my mom starts work at her new job tomorrow. They also sold their house this week! Crazy how fast it is all happening! It’s been fun seeing the pictures they send me of the adventures they are having and the new things they are finding. Since both of my parents were gone, it was the first Easter I have had away from them and my brother. It was sort of a bummer. Since Connor and I normally stay at their house when we visit Spokane, we ended up staying at Connor’s mom’s house, which was a nice change. His parents also have two new goldendoodle puppies, which are sooo entertaining and cuddly. We had a lot of fun playing with them all weekend. We also had an Easter egg hunt with Connor’s little brother and nephew, then relaxed out in the sun most of the morning. It was such nice weather all weekend, finally!

Just recently, I realized that tomorrow is this blog’s 6-month birthday. It’s not much, but it’s a start. I can proudly say I haven’t skipped any days in which I had scheduled a post, which is a pretty good accomplishment, considering I had no idea where this blog would take me. I know there is still so much work to be done, a lot of growth still much needed, but I am happy with where this little venture has led. Even when I have piles of school work, I keep writing on this blog. It’s been fun. I can’t wait for graduation to see how much more time I will be able to dedicate to my blog and I know it will evolve immensely over time. Thanks to you guys for coming back and checking in, it means a lot!

Tonight was the last night for Connor and I in Spokane before heading back home to start another week at school and work. I am so happy that Daylight Savings Time has changed back, because I love the sky staying brighter, later, and there have been some gorgeous sunsets lately. Sometimes, driving back home can be a highlight of the trip because of the beautiful views we have. I have always enjoyed car rides with picturesque farms or even just open fields for miles. Something about it is very thought-provoking and offers up time to ponder on life (except when I have homework to do, dangit). Nevertheless, I love nature for this reason. It provides clarity.

The cotton-candy clouds were my inspiration and entertainment for the evening. Connor has definitely taken his role of driving, which is lucky for me because it allows time to relax and enjoy the ride. That is, when I’m not yelling commands and driving lessons from the passenger seat. I started thinking about how I take the bus to school, which offers a lot of time spent waiting outside. I have come to realize that myself and others use this time to stare at our iphones and ipods, meaningless facebook posts, and shuffling through songs. I started wondering why I don’t use this time to inhale the morning air and revel in the changing leaves of the seasons or the sun rays beating on the roads.  I don’t think we spend enough time being aware of our environment and surroundings. Our lives are now filled with web browsing, youtube videos, and text messages rather than the refreshing moments that nature can provide us.

So next time you are waiting for the bus or walking to your next destination, instead of hanging your head over your phone, put your chin up and be inspired! There is so much to be seen out there, and I am determined to see it.

Have a great week!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
