DIY Mason Jar Sewing Kit

DIY Sewing Kit via The Urban Pig

One of the items from Tuesday’s Mason Jar post was the Anthropologie sewing kit, which I thought was super adorable. Because I have a growing kit of sewing supplies and an excess amount of mason jars, I gave it a try to make it on my own. Honestly, this is the first project I have actually finished and stated, “I should have just bought it!” There was a lot of trial and error, but I finally got it to an acceptable appearance. Want to know how to make it?

You will need: 1-2 fabrics, scissors, mason jar, sewing needle and string, pins, cotton or cotton balls, glue.

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

I started by cutting two circles of fabric slightly bigger than the lid. On one of the circles, I traced a line of the inner circle of the lid. I then took the other circle pinned it to the fabric along the line that was traced. Even though the fabric circles are the same size, the top one needs to have some give to fill with cotton later. So the edges of the top circle should be pinned to the circle traced with pen. After you have pinned around the entire circle, it will pop up like a muffin!

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

Next you will sew along those pins (don’t make fun of my sloppy sewing skills!). Do NOT stitch all the way around! Leave about a 1″ gap. I used red string so you can easily see where I stitched. Then, pushing the extra fabric toward the center, use pins to form a smaller circle, then stitch along this line as well. Once again, do not stitch all the way around. Leave another gap that lines up with the gap on the larger circle. It may seem weird to do two rounds of stitches, I’m not a sewer so I don’t know. But the reason I did it was because without the outer circle, the extra fabric would pull through the lid and this little “poof” would fall off (again, I’m not a huge sewer so I don’t know the correct terminology, haha!)

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

Take the lid of the jar and smear glue onto it (I use Liquid Fusion). Glue the fabric to the lid of the jar and let it dry. Then, making sure the fabric is firmly secured to the lid, begin stuffing it tight with cotton balls.

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

Once the fabric is stuffed with cotton, flip the lid over and finish stitching the gap.

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

Next, you will cut the extra fabric from the edges of the lid.

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

You can then fill your jar with your sewing goods, put the lid on, and screw on the top! A few items I put in my jar: needles, different thread colors, scissors, and measuring tape.

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

diy sewing kit via the urban pig

DIY Sewing Kit via The Urban Pig

If you choose to do this project and have any questions, please feel free to ask! The directions to someone who hasn’t watched me do this may not make as much sense. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. What a cute idea. My sewing stuff is usually all over the place. This seems pretty handy. :)

    ~the Veiled Purl @ http://www.veiledpurl.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Glad you like it! I love having it for myself but I think it would make a really great gift for a bridal shower!

      Reply
  2. Love this idea! I’m always losing pins everywhere. I’ll definitely be trying this xx

    Carly

    http://www.stylesnapshot.com

    Reply
    • Yes! I love it because it takes very little room in a closet but still gathers up all of your basic sewing supplies really well.

      Let me know if you have questions when you make it. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  3. So clever and useful! I’d love for your to share this on my link party this week! http://domesticsuperhero.com/2013/03/28/swdst4/ Hope to see you!

    Reply
    • I would love to! I have never participated in a link party before so I will let you know if I have any questions after I go through your blog’s directions.

      Reply
      • Let me know!!! Thanks!!

        Reply
        • Thank you for the invitation! I got the link to work. I think the link party is a really fun idea! I have another great DIY post coming up on Tuesday. Check back to see!

          Reply
          • I will! And feel free to link up next week too! It’s definitely a great way to introduce new bloggers to your blog!

            Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
