Since Last Sunday

since last sunday via the urban pig

We had a good start to Spring Break spending time with our families all weekend. We are now back from Spokane and on the ride home I couldn’t help but think about my car being one of the coziest places for me. I realize this could sound weird, but if you think about it, there is a sense of comfort and excitement a car ride brings. I could be driving to the store or on a full roadtrip, anywhere really, and there is this message that speaks to me of adventure. My car takes me to an alternate location, somewhere different, and no matter where I am, it is the comfort I have, a shelter and home away from home.

Sometimes when Connor and I feel like eating out, I will ask to go through the drive-thru and to sit in the car while we eat. I call it a party. It’s sort of funny how things have changed since high school, and this “party” to me can be a highlight, and even considered as a little adventure. It is only fun at night because it’s more peaceful with bright lights of retail signage against the pitch black sky. And it also makes it easier to pretend we are somewhere new or on a roadtrip.

Anyway, on our way home, I began thinking about the feelings a warm car ride can bring, and it changes with the weather. Today, the weather is pretty crappy – rainy, wet, and grey skies. Even though it’s only a light rain, it looks as if there was just a downpour or thunderstorm. It’s hard not to idealize things when the landscapes we drive through are so beautiful. The wheat fields are soaked with mud leftover from last year’s harvest. Puddles have formed in ditches from cars splashing water off the road. Yet, even with the grey skies and window shield splattered with water, there is a sense of calm that the shelter of my little car brings.

It’s the calm before the storm, the calm during the storm, and the calm after the storm. It’s the comfort the car brings me; maybe because of the memories of my childhood and romanticized past of being on the road and traveling. But, enough hours on the road make me feel at home no matter where I am, as long as I am with people I love. (Total truth to the song “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
