Since Last Sunday

relax and retreat via the urban pig

Sometimes you just need to treat yourself – to get a little “you” time. A little somethin’-somethin’ can often go a long way. This week has been full of special things to get me refreshed and rejuvenated, just in time for midterms. The week started with a much needed hair-care appointment. Fresh dyed locks and a clean cut to get rid of the dead ends. I went to a friend of a friend here in town and she put some magic into my hair. It has never felt so soft and sleek – I need to know her secrets! But it’s amazing how something so small can make all the difference.

Shortly after, my flat iron broke, the one I talked about in the post of the 12 things I can’t live without. Turns out, I really can’t live without a straightener! (Or the Moroccan Oil – have you guys tried the styling cream!?) One day later, I had bought a new one, the same kind just a newer version. So far, so good! I straightened my hair in 1/3 of the time it usually takes, so hopefully here’s to another 5+ years with Remington. I will say, though, I don’t think this warning was necessary. Anyways, it was exciting to go to the store and pick out a new hot tool. Of course, I was more sold by the packaging than anything else, well, and the good review.

To end the weekend, Connor and I retreated to the local hotel. We had celebrated Valentine’s Day at home and decided to schedule a weekend away instead of a big fancy dinner. We reserved a room with a cozy bed and bubble bath, ordered some pizza, and had a movie night. It was so nice to get out of the house, even though the hotel is less than 5 minutes away from our apartment. Just getting a fresh view of life has been extremely refreshing. Even studying here has been enjoyable! (Wow, did I just say that?)

Treating myself this week in both big and small ways has been so beneficial, even with the upcoming stress of midterms next week. I have found myself with a fresh and excited attitude for my school projects. Inspiration and positivity has returned, replacing my Senioritis! I would highly recommend to any of you who feel stuck in a rut (like I did), tired of life or ready to give up, stressed or overwhelmed, or even if you are already happy, just increase your mood by treating yourself. You don’t have to go out and spend a lot of money, or even anything at all. Take one hour of your day this week and do something for you. Paint your nails, bake something, buy a small piece of clothing or accessory, take a nap, watch a favorite movie. Anything you want! Just take a quick break from the daily grind, reap the rewards and benefit from a boost of energy. And then, get back to work harder and more inspired.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
