Since Last Sunday

valentine's day flowers via the urban pig

This Thursday it was Valentine’s Day! It was also the first V-Day for Connor and I as a married couple. He picked me up from school looking extra cute with these oriental lilies, in a pot, so hopefully they last longer than a regular flower bouquet! Knowing me though, they probably won’t – leaves are already dropping. Sorry, Connor! Our love plant may not last forever. It would be amazing though if we kept them alive for years and can tell our children they are from our first Valentine’s Day. I may need to work harder at remembering to water and take care of them.

Valentine’s Day isn’t just for couples, though. I think it can also be to show your friends and family how much you love them.

I remember being just as excited when I was younger when my parents would buy my brother and I little candies and stuffed animals. And my parents are still awesome – they sent Connor and I a little package with snacks and cookies to decorate with red, pink, and white frosting. So we spent the evening at home watching our new favorite tv series, New Girl, cooking a delicious dinner, making frosting designs on cookies, and cuddling. I also know of some friends who didn’t have “dates”, so they baked and watched movies. I think that sounds fun also! You don’t have to be in a relationship to enjoy this holiday. And I’m not saying that just because I’m married!

But I am married, and therefore I feel like saying a few love-y things about how much I adore my husband. Like, how he is always there for me, listening to anything and everything I have to say, supporting me with anything and everything I want to do, and caring for me and loving me every second of every day. I don’t really know how I got so lucky in finding someone so amazing, but I did, and thinking about it all week has made me want to just pinch and hug him all the time. I don’t think I take him for granted, because in my head I always think about how grateful I am to have him in my life, but around these sometimes cheesy holidays, my love gets a little bit amplified and more expressive. Soak it up, you V-Day lovers!

It seems quite fitting that this week, Connor and I finished our wedding scrapbook, full of pictures from our ceremony, reception, honeymoon, and even the other dresses I tried on! The book is bursting at the seams because it is so full – it is currently being flattened under a stack of 20 or so books, no joke. Once it’s done, I will post pictures of how it turned out.

Anyway, I hope everyone had a great week full of love and friendships!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
