DIY Scrapbook Journal

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

You can use this DIY project as a sketchbook, journal, scrapbook, and more! I am using mine as a combination for inspiration pieces. As much as I love Pinterest (seriously, I love Pinterest) – sometimes I like to just have something tangible in front of me to touch, feel, and arrange. I will have magazine cut-outs, little notes of my thoughts, or whatever else that I would like to include in my inspiration scrapbook.

Items Needed:
Scissors or Xacto Knife
Ruler
Pen
Fabric
Glue (I use Liquid Fusion)
Notebook, journal, sketchbook, or similar (I got mine at Michaels for 50% off, it was less than $10.00!)

For Your Reference: The fabric I use are each about 12″x12″, and the sketchbook is approximately 11-1/4″x8-3/4″

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

Step 1: Place your first fabric on your book and decide how much you want showing – I just cut mine in half to make it easier. I also placed my second fabric on the book so I could visualize how the two fabrics would overlay and how the book will look when it is finished. Look at the bottom of the tutorial for tips on choosing fabrics.

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

Step 2: Cut your fabric. Place it on the cover and line up edges to double check that it fits. Glue the back of the fabric and hold in place. Look at the bottom of the tutorial for tips on gluing. Flip the book over and do the same to the back. I used a few heavy books stacked on top and left it to dry for about 20 minutes, depending on your glue.

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

2013-02-05 17.55.19

Step 3: Take your next fabric and decide where and how you want to place it. Mine was a little too wide so I had to cut the edges. Glue it on and let dry. Wrap it around the spine, trying not to pull too tight. I pretty much let the fabric hang over the edge loosely. You want it to have a little give so you can open the book easily. My fabric was also fairly stretchy.

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

DIY Scrapbook Journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

Step 4: As you can see, the fabric was also too long, so determine where you would like to cut it off. Patterned fabrics are nice for creating a visual line to cut along. If you can’t do this, use your ruler and mark a line. Cut it a little longer then you need so you have room to trim wobbly edges (like me) or in case you make a mistake.

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

Step 5: Pull the fabric back and glue. Remember not to pull too tight when you place the fabric onto the cover. Let dry. You’re done!

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

Extra Tips:
1. My cutting skills are less than perfect so I reversed the book and used what was originally the front as the back, as one side of the fabric was nicely stitched.
2. Depending on your fabric type, you may want to use a paintbrush to spread the glue smoothly rather than having drizzled lines, which may show through. This is especially important if you have fabrics that are thin, like silk, or solid colors.

Here are some of my first pages I have made today, using items I cut out of old magazines.

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

DIY scrapbook journal via The Urban Pig

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Very nice. The book looks great :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
