Black is Back

One thing really difficult about being a student of design is I appreciate all styles! I consider this a difficulty because I have a tendency to want to redecorate the house everytime I get inspired by something I see. Curious to know what it was this time?

[Francisco Costa's Murray Hill Manhattan Home]

There is something about the dark and moody palette and decor that add a sophisticated and refined style to the space. I also love the warmth provided by the gold and brown accents. Overall, this room feels classic yet mysterious with a touch of rustic and antique accessories.

Sometimes I wish I had a bigger house so I could occasionally swap out all of my decorations as I pleased. Some days I can bask in the colorful and creative apartment we currently have, and other days, I long for a more sophisticated space to reside in. So here goes nothing, here are a few tips that could get me, (and you!), on the way to making the switch.

Take inventory of what you have. Make a list, and within this list decide what needs to be removed, hidden, or repurposed. Can something change its appearance if placed in a different room or paired with a different item? Think about adjacencies as well. For example, two colorful paintings placed side by side may appear brighter or “louder” than if  they are separated and placed with art that is more muted or neutral.

 

Play with arrangements. Sometimes this is the hardest part of the process because after a while, we get so used to seeing things in a particular spot that it is difficult to imagine it anywhere else. If you are struggling, try to put the item in a completely different room. Or, do the “non-committal approach.” This is my favorite, because by telling yourself that the object does not have to stay in the first place you try or that it’s “just for fun, to try,” you rid your mind of the fear of something looking bad.

 

Decide what is missing. Are there a few objects that, if purchased, could completely change the aesthetics of the room? Try not to buy anything too big that would be hard to change later, like a sofa, but accessories such as bedspreads, area rugs, etc. are good examples of inexpensive and easily interchangeable items. I personally like to keep certain items neutral, such as bath towels or dishes, however, these are small accessories that could also potentially change the style of a space.

Good luck!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Woah great article. All the info I needed for this school project I’m writing. Thankful!

    Reply
  2. Zip Codes Cities Maryland » Chris Wolfe Antiques Frederick MD Maryland Chris Wolfe Antiques Frederick MD Maryland

     /  12/05/2012

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging
    on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read through articles from other authors and practice a little something from their sites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
