Happy Birthday Grandma!

Photo taken by Stephen Daniels-Brown, Lake Powell, Arizona

Many years ago in middle school, you were the main topic of my project called “My Hero.” I don’t think I ever shared it with you, so here are a few pieces:

My grandma is one of the most inspiring people I know. She has always encouraged me to try new things as well as does what she can to help me excel. She does the most amazing, adventurous things, such as learning to fly airplanes, volunteering at the zoo to hang out with Maladi the orangutan, and traveling the world. She has taught me so much about expanding my horizons, knowledge, and abilities.

I have a very big extended family on my grandmother’s side. She is a respected mother and a great role model for me to look up to. My grandma treats us kindly; she is understanding of your problems and does not criticize or chatise you for every small mistake you make. She has always been sensitive to peoples’ feelings, regardless if you are part of our family. My grandma has always been wholehearted and extremely service-oriented. I remember when she hand-knitted a considerable amount of hats and scarves to give to the homeless people in Seattle before the cold weather came in. She is devoted to helping other people, no matter if they are homeless or upscale. My grandma has a lot of integrity, and the examples she sets are very influential to me.”

I have always admired people with a great appreciation for life. My grandma is one of those people who cherish the little things. She has a different way of seeing everything and shows everyone how to see in a more positive perpective. I love being around my grandma because of how much her bright outlook on life modifies and changes my attitude.”

Photo taken by Stephen Daniels-Brown, Navajo Canyons, Lake Powell, Arizona

My heart literally skipped a beat at the sight of this picture of you swimming in the Navajo Canyons in Arizona. You are one of the most beautiful women in the world. Your courage to try everything is so inspiring to me. You march to the beat of your own drum, and I strive to become more like you. You have touched so many lives, especially mine, and I am sure the other grandchildren as well.

Happy Birthday! I expect many more adventure-filled years to come!

Love,
Shaleesa

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. JoAn

     /  11/10/2012

    Thanks Shaleesa!!!! I certainly didn’t expect this but I love it. You are the sweetest!!!

    Reply
  2. Definitely! That grandma is a wild one!

    Reply
  3. Jacquelynn

     /  11/06/2012

    I agree, you’re the best, grandma! Love you especially in your gangster picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • find your favorite feature!

  • Copyright © 2014, The Urban Pig. Feel free to share and use whatever sparks your interest on this blog, but please give credit where it is due. Thank you!
